PDA

View Full Version : Vista Nub here

NIKO
6 Aug 2008, 09:25am
I am very new to vista, and i hate it to be honest. But I have downloaded steam and installed HL2 and CSS onto a vista computer. Every time i start either one up it goes through the opening scene and ten closes and gives me a Valve engine error. I have ran HL2 through "Can You Run IT" and it said that I passed both min and recommended, so I know the lappy can handle it. does anyonehave any suggestions?

GrayFox
6 Aug 2008, 10:41am
Run it through administrator.

GrayFox
6 Aug 2008, 10:59am
Is it possible to switch my computer from Vista to XP?

Trip
6 Aug 2008, 11:17am
If it was XP originally and you still have the Windows disc or a backup then you can just reinstall Windows XP over it. It will, of course, wipe everything off the computer.

i have vista and i love it. the best computer i ever had.

GrayFox
6 Aug 2008, 11:19am
If it was XP originally and you still have the Windows disc or a backup then you can just reinstall Windows XP over it. It will, of course, wipe everything off the computer.

But if it was built on Vista? Could I move all my files onto my external hard drive and then somehow switch it?

Itch
6 Aug 2008, 11:27am
Depends on if the XP drivers needed for your hardware are available. On laptops that can be a bit iffy.. but on desktops you can almost always install XP.

Red
6 Aug 2008, 11:41am
lol vista

Daze
6 Aug 2008, 12:00pm
create a partition, install virtual machine.

that way you have the best of both worlds.

Red
6 Aug 2008, 12:07pm
A bit of heaven and hell

broncoty
6 Aug 2008, 02:10pm