PDA

View Full Version : D-Day Idea

Chêvouÿx
2 Jul 2008, 02:18pm
Here I am, posting this into the map forum like suggested.

You might get more responses if you ask in the map section of these forums , perhaps someone who maps can see your request and start working on it. I am a very amateur mapper and I couldn't even do most of the things you mentioned , but I'd help with the community project by finding pictures and things if necessary :laugh:

I've been thinking about this idea for awhile, so I wanted to post it here. Now, I think this idea would be cool for either deathrun, escape, or Napalm (which I have yet to play), but even "cooler" for escape (or possibly Napalm, I'm not sure). I'd do this myself, but I don't know how to use Source SDK for my life, and I'm too lazy to learn it since all my map-making skill have been donated to WC3 World-Editor. Oh, and exuse me for any bad grammar; I'm tired, my hands are shaky, and I'm trying to type all of this really fast.

For Escape:

What I'm thinking is that you'll make some obstacles and whatnot like in trap_escape that will make a bit more challenging. With that, you should also possibly put in some traps/obstacles that humans can take so they're not instantly killed. For example, in black_mesa_escape, you can close the airlock so the zombies have to knife they're away around through a little path in the wall. So, make something like falling rocks or something that causes zombies to detour around and take "the long route." Oh, and for the the machine stuff, maybe have the machine guns and fake snipers "throw" projectiles (that move slow enough so they're not too hard or easy to dodge) at whoever is running up the beach. After all, the aim for this map is utter chaos. And with projectiles coming for your face and zombies comign for you flesh, it'll be hella fun (assuming it'll be balanced enough to not be one-sided).