PDA

View Full Version : A Simple compiling Program i Made :]



Clod14
17 Jun 2008, 03:43am
Hammer Compiler

[What Do I Need For Requirements?!]


This Needs Steam On To Work.

You Need Microsoft Net.Framework 3.5 or higher (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=333325FD-AE52-4E35-B531-508D977D32A6&displaylang=en).



Remember to +REP if u like.
Please Sticky, I will be continuing Production on it.

[Any Future Versioooooon For A-MC?!



Errors and How to fix them! (Errors are not from my compiler. But from your Map Overall.)

LEAK ERRORS (taken from Interlopers)

Leaks
With leaks vbsp.exe wont be able to divide your level into visleafs, so it wont create a portal file. Therefore, you can't use vvis or Glview. Leaks also make vbsp.exe not know which faces it can delete, making your map only laggier and bigger, and vrad.exe will not be able to light your map as good as without leaks.

In short: Leaks give you trouble. Leaks are holes in you map. Since the compilers will try to find out what the inside is of your level (so they dont have to create the outside of your level) they will not be able to do that if the inside of your level is in contact with the outside.
Think of your map as a spaceship: only when it's hull is completely air-tight, people (all the entities) will be able to live inside. If there's a hole leaking into space (the void) everybody will die. On our spaceship that is. Not in this game. And just like in a spaceship, entities (humans) can't plug holes in the hull. (displacements can't either btw) Vbsp.exe simply takes all entities and see if it can draw a line from the entity into the void. If it can draw such a line, your map has a leak somewhere. This also means that if your map doesn't have a single entity, no leakchecking can be done. However, in that case vbsp.exe will still report a leak!

How to find leaks?
First of all, vbsp.exe will write an error in the compile log. The leak error doesn't stand out, but if you look carefull you can see something like:

**** leaked ****
Entity info_player_deathmatch (22.94 -64.44 17.00) leaked!


It will report an entity (e.g. info_player_deathmatch) and some coordinates. Now, when you go to [map->load pointfile] and load your pointfile (usually Hammer can find it, if not, youll have to search manually for it (it's called "mapname.lin"). If it doesn't exist, make sure your map has entities in it) a red line will appear, starting at the stated entity (at the stated coordinates), and ending outside your level in the void. If you just follow that line, it will eventually pass through your leak.

If you cant find the entity the line starts, go to "tools-> go to coordinates" and fill in the coordinates mentioned in the log. Remember entities and displacements can't block leaks, therefore its easiest to hide all entities and displacements so you can spot the leak easier (you might have turned a wall into an entity which was supposed to seal your level for instance). In space you can't seal holes in a spaceship with humans, in maps you can't seal holes with entities. Simple as that. Better use vis-groups to hide the entities. Simply uncheck "auto" in the visgroup manager (to the right in Hammer), and all entities will be gone untill you check the box again. This is great for searching for leaks. Removing the mentioned entity will only help if the entity itself is outside the level, but the level itself is sealed (e.g. when a person from our sealed spaceship is going for a space-walk).

Also, leaks may be caused by invalid use of areaportal(window)s (in our spaceship, areaportal(window)s are airlocks). If you've fixed the leak, there may still be another one. Therefore, unload the pointfile (under "menu" )and recompile. If there's another leak, simply load the pointfile again. Keep doing that untill there are no more leaks.
Note that no pointfile can be made if your level has no entities, but your map will still leak. You need atleast one entity in your map to compile it succesfully.


Updates from APRIL 25 ~ MAY 1 of 2010

ADDED


Added Better Dir checkers (You will have to browse) to the Actual Folder.
Error Check (Link's) you to Interlopers Site, so you can check you Map Errors
If it contains any. of course.
Disable Clods Header and Finisher, (It Dis-ables the

//::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::\\
Hammer Editor
Yadayadayada
Map compiled: Your Map
Time of Compile 2313133131234
\\:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::://

So now you, you can compile at a faster Rate, Without the Pause
in the beginning or end.




BUG FIXES


It seems I did not code the "Execution" Of CSS + your map right...
I fixed this problem.
Log file did not open before due to Code not ending in ".log"
Fixed this aswell.
Added 3 'Additional Parameters' For Expert Users.
They can add Commands to the map compiler
To issue a Command Please seperate each command with a space.
ie, -command1 -command2 -command3 -command4

Take-OUTS (Removed things)


I took (HDR) Out of Rad, It seems it was not compiling the maps in
HDR Mode, I belive you can compile the map in Normal VVIS and RAD and
It will look in good detail.

(for some reason when compiling with the HDR choice, It would give the map
Full bright, (THEREFORE) There was light everywhere.



Updates from APRIL 1 ~ APRIL 24 of 2010





It will have an "Option" System where u can choose if u want the Compiler
To Pause After Compiling VBSP or VVIS or VRAD. This way you can look,
at some of the things. Other than this update I do not know.

ADDED [Apr - 20 - 2010 (Tuesday)]




Added the Ability to Start CSS + The Map Compiled so you can Test.

ADDED [Apr - 20 - 2010 (Tuesday)]




Added the Ability to Edit all Directories on the Compiler.
Therefore you can all use it. =]

ADDED [Apr - 20 - 2010 (Tuesday)]




You can Now enhance the Compiling of the Map.
(It is no longer a simple Map compiler) Meaning
You can now Compile at a Normal or Fast VBSP / VVIS / or VRAD
You can Add HDR settings to VRAD. and futhermore. There are more
Settings for Each Tab.

ADDED [Apr - 20 - 2010 (Tuesday)]




Future Update will add the ability to do 1 stage if u wish.
For example just making the VBSP and skipping the VVIS or VRAD
or just doing the VVIS or VRAD. get it? good. Usually good when wanting to
update Light's. or Graphic's (HDR) and stuf.

ADDED [Apr - 23 - 2010 (Thursday)]




Enhanced GUI on the Hammer Compiler. Lets you Select out of
VBSP | VVIS | VRAD | COMPILER OPTIONS | USER OPTIONS | PROGRAM OPTIONS|

ADDED [Apr - 23 - 2010 (Thursday)]


A Few Things that the program lets you currently do.
VBSP Section


Lets you do nothing else Currently :D <3 Juu Bubblez Easteregg.

VVIS Section



Lets you Compile at a "Fast" or "Normal" Setting.

VRAD Section



Lets you Compile at a "Fast" or "Normal" Setting.
It also Lets you Select if you wish to Compile your Map with HDR in it.


Compiler Options



Lets you Choose if you wish to Pause the Compiling Session After
1 stage is complete. Basically so you can see what the Compiler did.
Lets you Choose if you wish to Run CSS + The Map you Compiled
As soon as it is finished Compiling.
It Lets you Choose if you Wish to Open the Log File of your Map
After the Compiling is Done.
Last but not least, Currently It also lets you select What of the 3 Stages
You wish to Run. Ie, VBSP VVIS or VRAD. you can choose to compile
with 1 of the 3, (Ive never done it but hey theres a First time for everything! =])


User Options



Should be the only update from this or any future event. The User
Options will be strictly to Set the Locations/Directories of all the
Needed Folders. In order to Compile and Move the Map With No Errors!.


Program Options



Nothing is Currently Put here. But it will be used to further en-hance the
Program/Compiling Output. =]








Much more updates to come!. =]



[What Can this Compiler Do?!]




Compile Maps At a Faster Rate than Hammer Does.
(without the Crashing and if u have a good computer
hell you can even Browse the web or even play games while
It compiles for you)
Color Coded. =]
Information is Saved for the Program
ie; Steam account name will be saved. as well as the last
Map you compiled will also be saved. and Loaded on Program Start~up.
Can do a Couple of Things now. As stated above, in the Update
from April 1 to may 1, (Read it and check it out!)


[What Are the Compiler Downfalls?!]




None, Since the update All users Should be able to use it. With no problems at all.



[OMG SSSCR EEEEE NIE SSSSS?!]






Image 1 - New GUI

http://www.steamgamers.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=9322&stc=1&d=1272005510



Image 2 - Start of Compile and Compiling VBSP

http://www.steamgamers.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=9318&stc=1&d=1272005510



Image 3 - Compiling VVIS


http://www.steamgamers.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=9319&stc=1&d=1272005510



Image 4 - Compiling VRAD


http://img195.imageshack.us/img195/7312/hcgui3.png



Image 5 - Ending of Program


http://www.steamgamers.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=9321&stc=1&d=1272005510




[Yea Get Your Personal DOWNLOAD!?!]
CLICK ME TO DOWNLOAD HC (http://www.steamgamers.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=9335&stc=1&d=1272391202)


[This Be The Zip's Password?!]
hc

Jack Napier
20 Jul 2008, 03:54pm
How is this different from the one within Hammer?

I mean, what's the benefit in the end result of this compared to Hammer's?

Clod14
20 Jul 2008, 10:28pm
It would end up going a bit faster than Hammer.
and!
you can run other programs. While Compiling. Unlike Hammer
where if u do something. It usually Crashes ur "Hammer" program.
:/

[Update will come soon]
# Checks where your Steam Folder is located.
(hopefully some other stuff. If i got time....)

Aaron117
29 Jul 2008, 11:53pm
Doesn't work for me, I did everything right, it makes a file on my desktop, and I double click it.

Only thing is, when I compile it it brings up the console black thing, it goes fast and closes down.
I go into CS:S and it did nothing.


-Aaron-

Clod14
1 Aug 2008, 08:27pm
I will have to make the new update. Sorry about this wait. Ill make it after i do the recovery on my computer.
(it detects where ur game is) etc.ill have a bit more on the update.

Btw what Drive is ur Steam on? C:\??

Bill Smauz
1 Aug 2008, 09:59pm
WOW THIS IS LIKE THE BEST COMPILER EVER THANKS! :thumbup1:

Clod14
1 Aug 2008, 10:36pm
Thank you :D :]

Aaron117
2 Aug 2008, 06:11am
I will have to make the new update. Sorry about this wait. Ill make it after i do the recovery on my computer.
(it detects where ur game is) etc.ill have a bit more on the update.

Btw what Drive is ur Steam on? C:\??

Yeah, si, its C.
(Lol I made a funny Si C.)

I mean I love the program, but if only it worked for me, lol.

-Aaron-

Clod14
2 Aug 2008, 11:42am
Yeah, si, its C.
(Lol I made a funny Si C.)

I mean I love the program, but if only it worked for me, lol.

-Aaron-

Im trying to get it to work. sorry for the delay :] Aaron.

SpikedRocker
9 Aug 2008, 08:35am
Using this right now. So far so good. It was definatly helpful when I had errors in the compiling process. Very good work buddy!

Clod14
9 Aug 2008, 02:52pm
:] Hope you like the new version. it was easy to update. Next Version will include If you want it to compile with HDR and etc.

Aaron117
9 Aug 2008, 08:26pm
Thanks Clod14, I'll surely download it soon after I get done with a map that is on the servers, people wanted me to make it bigger, and they liked it they said so I will mention you to the country club.

-Aaron-

Clod14
9 Aug 2008, 08:31pm
Thanks Clod14, I'll surely download it soon after I get done with a map that is on the servers, people wanted me to make it bigger, and they liked it they said so I will mention you to the country club.

-Aaron-

Test it out on a small Map; to see if it works for u now.
(when u have time)

Aaron117
10 Aug 2008, 12:26pm
Still can't get it to work for my map :<

I do everything right... I type in the exact same name of my map :<

Clod14
10 Aug 2008, 08:44pm
Hmmm. Navigate to your Maps Folder.
(maybe its diffrent from the one on the program.??)

as in. for example mines is.


(C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\clod15\sourcesdk_content\cst rike\mapsrc)

[Is yours diffrent]
sourcesdk_content\cstrike\mapsrc
????

SpikedRocker
11 Aug 2008, 03:04am
The way you have it is the way I have mine set up. I still don't know why your 2nd one doesn't work.

Clod14
11 Aug 2008, 03:58pm
The way you have it is the way I have mine set up. I still don't know why your 2nd one doesn't work.

so the updated Version doesnt Work for u Either?

Eldest
13 Aug 2008, 10:47am
I entered my account name and the map name, Run Compile, it executes and then shuts down. A screenshot is attached to my post.
Btw. is Hammer extremely slow or something is wrong with my map cause it does the 0..1...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 for the first time, but the second
stop at 0..1...3...4...5...6...7...8...9..

Clod14
13 Aug 2008, 02:10pm
I entered my account name and the map name, Run Compile, it executes and then shuts down. A screenshot is attached to my post.
Btw. is Hammer extremely slow or something is wrong with my map cause it does the 0..1...3...4...5...6...7...8...9...10 for the first time, but the second
stop at 0..1...3...4...5...6...7...8...9..

Look at your Screenshot; U have a Space before Jail.
(which can be the problem.)
if it dont work; Download Version 0.01 {which is on First Post}
and tell me if that version works...
(i think i missed something on Version 0.02)
i will have to Recode.

Svendy
14 Aug 2008, 12:49am
doesnt work for me :( it opens the command window for a fraction of a second, nothing happens

Clod14
14 Aug 2008, 01:37am
doesnt work for me :( it opens the command window for a fraction of a second, nothing happens

Ok then 3rd Complaint. i will recode...
Use First Version. For Compiling then.

SpikedRocker
14 Aug 2008, 02:54am
so the updated Version doesnt Work for u Either?

I just restored my computer as well, once I get it back running fully I'll try using 2nd version again.

Svendy
14 Aug 2008, 02:56pm
i got the same problem with version one

EDIT: i opened the compiler through anohter command promt, this is part of what it said:
Warning: falling back to auto detection of vproject directory.
Unable to find gameinfo.txt. Solutions:

Sandstorm
16 Aug 2008, 10:06pm
im trying 001 stable, but my steam isnt where the program points, and its non editable? any way for us to choose where our ssteam folder is?

Clod14
16 Aug 2008, 11:28pm
im trying 001 stable, but my steam isnt where the program points, and its non editable? any way for us to choose where our ssteam folder is?

see 0.02 Fixes that because it goes to ur Installed Steam folder.
Sadly 0.01 Does not let u Change directory.

So Sorry. but why not try and see if 0.02 works.
{I know it hasnt worked for some people but hey u might be lucky.}

Ill come back with a new Version in about 3 or 2 days.

Sandstorm
17 Aug 2008, 12:25am
it worked, at least it created the bsp.., i didnt try to run load it in css, but omg is it fast..

Eldest
17 Aug 2008, 02:19am
I got the 0.02 working :)

Clod14
17 Aug 2008, 06:52pm
I got the 0.02 working :)

Cool. So it compiles the Map. ?
and you are able to play it?

Clod14
19 Aug 2008, 12:05am
New Update!
Re-Made the program From Scratch.
Hope you like, and hope it works for you all!

Repus
8 Sep 2008, 06:37pm
Can you give other link to download this? Those don't work, dam hammer keeps crashing

Clod14
9 Sep 2008, 01:47pm
Can you give other link to download this? Those don't work, dam hammer keeps crashing

So Sorry I forgot a while back i Changed the File's Location.
I have Fixed the Link for Version 1.01
Have fun Downloading. And using the program.

One thing though. I have Changed my Operating System to
(Linux - Ubuntu) So i can - NOT Keep updating Hammer Compiler Sorry Everyone.
And repus Remember to have Steam on, Thats the only way Version 1.01 will work.

Repus
9 Sep 2008, 04:15pm
Thanks, just now saw this, but i don't really need it anymore got ba_jail_rapeus_v3 out, i'm not mapping anything right now

Clod14
24 Sep 2008, 07:30pm
Its alright As long as you use it later ;]
Ima get Alienware :] (best Gaming Comp)
and Program in it ;]

Aaron117
26 Sep 2008, 01:15am
Its alright As long as you use it later ;]
Ima get Alienware :] (best Gaming Comp)
and Program in it ;]

Actually, I don't want to this turn into a debate, but their computers aren't as great as they lead on.

Custom made > AlienWare

Cheaper > More money

The General
14 Oct 2008, 09:21pm
alienware = dell

Clod14
17 Jan 2010, 12:04pm
A new Version of this is being written; and will have lots of commands. Please Write down your name; if you would like to be a beta tester when im almost finished with the program.

to see if you find any bugs; or anything ;) thanks again! :D
(reply to this thread saying "I want to be a beta tester" and when im almost done; ill send u a link to the program. :)

Thanks again
~ Clod

Whazaaaaa
17 Jan 2010, 02:18pm
me want betatest and me want you to give me link where u have learned all this programming :)

Tweezy
18 Jan 2010, 05:46am
Im guesing this is coded in java? If so make sure you have JDK downloaded otherwise it won't work. Or check your enviromental settings.

Clod14
20 Apr 2010, 03:14am
RE-done, for Artimus, simple. yet stylish :P, discuss on how it should improve. if u want. =]

Prez
20 Apr 2010, 01:19pm
Absolutely sexy! +rep :D

Neji
20 Apr 2010, 01:25pm
LOL put "<3 [SG] Neji" somewhere :P


No but seriously, great job. Rep+ for you :D

Clod14
20 Apr 2010, 02:26pm
Thank you Artimus & Neji. :]

Metal
20 Apr 2010, 03:27pm
i wont use it, but it seems people have used it.
+rep

Clod14
20 Apr 2010, 03:53pm
i wont use it, but it seems people have used it.
+rep

the people before artimus and Nejis comment, used a diffferent Map compiler One i made a long time ago, The one i made for artimus, is the one i have up. =] but thanks for the +rep anyways! =D

Tweezy
23 Apr 2010, 07:24am
Doesn't work for me, I did everything right, it makes a file on my desktop, and I double click it.

Only thing is, when I compile it it brings up the console black thing, it goes fast and closes down.
I go into CS:S and it did nothing.


-Aaron-

Make sure you have java downloaded and installed

Tweezy
23 Apr 2010, 07:25am
//:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::\\
Thank you for using Hammer Compiler
Created By Clod14.
Version 1.03
Time Of Compile: 23/04/2010 14:25:11
Map Compiling: "sb_Tgalaxy_v1.vmf"
\\::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::://
Press any key to continue . . .
Step one - Setting Dir to Bin Folder
Step two - Starting VBSP Compiling
'vbsp' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

There was a problem compiling your map, check your sb_Tgalaxy_v1.log file for er
rors.
Press any key to continue . . .God damn?

And i know there aren't any errors

Clod14
23 Apr 2010, 09:27am
Make sure you have java downloaded and installed

Java is not used in this.
Just Net.Framework and Steam being on.
and that Error Arron used, Is a long time ago, like a year ago,
(from my older Map Compiler)

Tweezy, Ur error seems to me that ur VBSP.exe is located in another directory.
Check if it exists in the \Bin\ Folder. (If its green)

Check it out and tell me if it exists there or not. Thanks. =]

Clod14
23 Apr 2010, 09:30am
Fail Multi Post.

MPQC
23 Apr 2010, 11:19am
LoadPortals: couldn't read c:\program files\steam\steamapps\mrmasterpenguin\sourcesdk_co ntent\cstrike\mapsrc\deathrun_swimforit_v4.prt

Just shoved my map through your compiler for fun. Gets that error and won't compile, though it works fine through hammer. And yes, I did run it as administrator.

Clod14
23 Apr 2010, 01:31pm
K thanks Ill look into that MPCQ. =]

(it has a problem with ur .prt File) Ill chck wat it is.

Tweezy
24 Apr 2010, 05:10am
Evreything green before i hit compile... but tbh, ill rep you anyway for doing an amazing job :) (It will be usefull once my map is finished, it'll be fucking massive, gonna take hours to compile...)

Clod14
24 Apr 2010, 08:27am
LoadPortals: couldn't read c:\program files\steam\steamapps\mrmasterpenguin\sourcesdk_co ntent\cstrike\mapsrc\deathrun_swimforit_v4.prt Just shoved my map
Just shoved my map through your compiler for fun. Gets that error and won't compile, though it works fine through hammer. And yes, I did run it as administrator.

MPCQ as u can see that ur "\sourcesdk_co ntent\cstrike\" Dir is like that,
That can be the problem, unless you copied that way.
secondly MPCQ i was reading sometimes the PRT is not created, to restart Steam.
Can you restart steam and try again?? =] (I wil be re-coding the Compiler to ask you were the LOCATIONS of the EXE's are (VBSP VVIS VRAD).

MPQC
24 Apr 2010, 02:36pm
Looks just like a typo by me, accidentally hitting space. It is sourcesdk_content. I shoved it through again, same error.

Clod14
26 Apr 2010, 08:37pm
I have learned about PRT files. it seems my compiler will not compile maps when they have Errors Involving LEAKS. (PRT) Files wont be compiled due to these leaks. Which is good because u end up fixing your map,

(The compiler now has a site and copies your Log file of your map, so u can check what errors you Contain, if the Error is a "LEAK" that is one of the errors you must fix. (RED) because it will not let u compile.) Thank you. More fixes to come.

mapper
27 Apr 2010, 08:40am
I have learned about PRT files. it seems my compiler will not compile maps when they have Errors Involving LEAKS. (PRT) Files wont be compiled due to these leaks. Which is good because u end up fixing your map,


I'm confused. You need to compile in order to find those leaks.
In massive maps it may be impossible to find them all.

Clod14
27 Apr 2010, 10:14am
I'm confused. You need to compile in order to find those leaks.
In massive maps it may be impossible to find them all.

Yes yes, (in the new compiler) If u get a PRT Error
(Or) any error at all, it should open up your Logs file,and all you do is
(Ctrl + F ((FIND))) and type Leak or w/e and it should take you to the location, then in hammer you fix the map by fixing the leak and save the map, and then Compile. again.
with the hammer compiler, (COMPILE in low settings, ull still get errors but it will compiler your map at a faster rate) and if it doesnt work and opens up a Log file all you have to do
is check for leak, (in the new compiler it also gives you link(s) to helpful Websites, ie (interlopers) as they have an online checking thing. and you can copy & paste your Log file, into their site, and it should give you all the errors on your map. =]

----------------EDIT----------------------

UPDATE! =]

mapper
27 Apr 2010, 12:42pm
Ok thanks. Good job on this.
One more thing tho.
In the screenshots I see you always have to press a key when eg: VVIS is done compiling in order to start VRAD, can you do this automatically ?

Clod14
27 Apr 2010, 01:31pm
Ok thanks. Good job on this.
One more thing tho.
In the screenshots I see you always have to press a key when eg: VVIS is done compiling in order to start VRAD, can you do this automatically ?
Mapper you can choose your settings, (in the program)
=] I set it to pause on all steps, so i can take a pic easier. =]
but you dont have to set it up that way,
That options in Compile Options,
if you use the program so u can compile at a fast rate, then it would be wise to
view what is in "Program Options" there u can tick off the
//:::::::::::\\
Hammer Compiler
map compiling: Your map
Time of compiler
\\::::::::::://

Basically removes my, Header and Ending, so it automatically compiles the entire map without you pressing any key. =]