PDA

View Full Version : Windows XP Vs. Vista

Swizzy *B*
14 Apr 2008, 03:42pm
Which one is better for Gaming and Why?

Red
14 Apr 2008, 03:49pm
Stupid question, no offense.

If you can handle vista get vista, otherwise XP is fine.

Aren't you a computer tech?

Swizzy *B*
14 Apr 2008, 03:52pm
Stupid question, no offense.

If you can handle vista get vista, otherwise XP is fine.

Aren't you a computer tech?

The Reason i ask is b/c If you have Xp and you want to upgrade to Vista, Vista takes up Memory so lets say you have a 4GB, Vista will use almost 1 GB. So theres Pro's and Cons. And yes I am a Computer Tech.

Misanthrope
14 Apr 2008, 03:58pm
I was under the impression that Vista used fewer handles than XP, however, DirectX 10 is overrated in my opinion, I can hardly tell the difference in Crysis.

Red
14 Apr 2008, 03:58pm
Just stick with XP

PotshotPolka
14 Apr 2008, 04:55pm
You should know that Vista is just a clever new GUI made to compete with Apple and their user-friendly Mac OS X. Like all other Windows versions (besides NT) it can run 16-bit and 32-bit and of course 64-bit drivers, and is still based primarily on DOS. Command prompts for XP and Vista are nearly identical, I have a Vista laptop and a XP desktop, I'll go with XP anyday.

phatman76
14 Apr 2008, 06:45pm
go Vista, it is not any more expensive at most places and the some of the newer features and settings are top notch - ultimate that is. If you get Vista and aren't computer retarded, you have to go ultimate. I love it, great security settings and stability. When I got it a few of my drivers were sorta crappy, but now they are all great.

Zero001
15 Apr 2008, 01:08am
The use of more RAM isn't a bad thing. It just means more is preloaded into the memory cache and readily available for use. I can launch iTunes as quickly as I can open the start menu. The use of RAN is also determined by how much you have. My laptop with 2GB idles around 900MB and my desktop with 4GB idles around 1.4GB