PDA

View Full Version : Console Message on maps



Riperzz
25 Feb 2010, 11:23am
Hey! When on most ze maps theres console saying like "(CONSOLE): Hold elevator 30 seconds!"
But how i add that on map??? I cant find anything.

mapper
25 Feb 2010, 11:29am
This can be done with triggers or auto_logic's or simply pressing a button.
Do you generally know how to use/make outputs ?
If so, then it's easy for you to understand.

Ofcours you need a point_servercommand.

For Example: On the beginning of each round a message triggers.
So make an auto_logic and goto outputs:
Onnewgame
commander
command
say here comes your text, also don't use commas; it breaks your text. And leave a space after 'say'.

That's all for your logic.
Now make a point_servercommand
Name it; commander

Now you're done. It's fully oparationel.

Riperzz
25 Feb 2010, 11:46am
This can be done with triggers or auto_logic's or simply pressing a button.
Do you generally know how to use/make outputs ?
If so, then it's easy for you to understand.

Ofcours you need a point_servercommand.

For Example: On the beginning of each round a message triggers.
So make an auto_logic and goto outputs:
Onnewgame
commander
command
say here comes your text, also don't use commas; it breaks your text. And leave a space after 'say'.

That's all for your logic.
Now make a point_servercommand
Name it; commander

Now you're done. It's fully oparationel.

umm.. How do i make auto_logic?
Is it logic_auto ??

mapper
25 Feb 2010, 11:54am
It's an entitie.
Click on the Entitie tool on the left in hammer.
So I'm pretty sure you just started mapping, You can search for any tuts on fpsb (http://www.fpsbanana.com/tutcats/6). ( Really helpfull)
Also Halfwit-2 (http://www.halfwit-2.com/?page=tutorials) is a great site to learn of.
And interloopers.net (http://www.interlopers.net/tutorials/)

Riperzz
25 Feb 2010, 11:57am
It's an entitie.
Click on the Entitie tool on the left in hammer.
So I'm pretty sure you just started mapping, You can search for any tuts on fpsb (http://www.fpsbanana.com/tutcats/6). ( Really helpfull)
Also Halfwit-2 (http://www.halfwit-2.com/?page=tutorials) is a great site to learn of.
And interloopers.net (http://www.interlopers.net/tutorials/)

I know but there arent auto_logic. Theres just logic_auto
Didnt work :/ i did all what u sayed.
EDIT: I got it work but on trigger touch :/ logic_auto didnt work but theres another problem it says on my name
Riperzz: Testing. It supposed to say CONSOLE: Testing or is it on server if i host it then it comes my name or if its dedicated then its CONSOLE im i right?

mapper
25 Feb 2010, 12:54pm
I know but there arent auto_logic. Theres just logic_auto
Didnt work :/ i did all what u sayed.
EDIT: I got it work but on trigger touch :/ logic_auto didnt work but theres another problem it says on my name
Riperzz: Testing. It supposed to say CONSOLE: Testing or is it on server if i host it then it comes my name or if its dedicated then its CONSOLE im i right?
Yes only when you test it on a real server it i'll work.
Btw that's what I ment, logic_auto.

Riperzz
25 Feb 2010, 01:11pm
Ok, Thanks for help.

struki
25 Feb 2010, 02:50pm
You can also do it like this:

Make trigger around spawn area(trigger_once),then make point_Clientcommand name it "joe".
Go in trigger outputs and make it:
OnStartTouch
Joe
Say "whaazaaa"

and thats about it.

LunarKirby
26 Feb 2010, 12:12am
Don't do triggers, its much more better to use the entity "Logic_Auto" I use to use trigger instead of logic_auto because I never heard of it. Using trigger makes it messier as it is hard to edit things around, so use logic_auto.

P.S. Isn't it "OnMapSpawn" not "OnNewGame"?

Riperzz
26 Feb 2010, 06:43am
P.S. Isn't it "OnMapSpawn" not "OnNewGame"?

Maybe that fixes it, i have to try

mapper
26 Feb 2010, 09:33am
P.S. Isn't it "OnMapSpawn" not "OnNewGame"?

I doesn't really matter what you use.

Onnewgame means it'll trigger every new round.
Onmapspawn it should acually only trigger the first round.

Riperzz
26 Feb 2010, 11:16am
I doesn't really matter what you use.

Onnewgame means it'll trigger every new round.
Onmapspawn it should acually only trigger the first round.

Then i have no idea why it dont work :/

Cypher
21 Mar 2010, 10:34am
Like he said before, it will (probably) only work once you get it on a real server, so all you can do is cross your fingers. gl.